AGW logo


On June 2, 1938, a group of 30 newspapermen and women attending the Walker Cup at St Andrews decided there was a need for an organisation to protect the interests of golf writers.

Their main objective was to establish a close liaison with the governing bodies and promoters of golf. Thus was born the Association of Golf Writers, now solidly established and rightly respected as the official negotiating body of the golfing press.

The Association owes much to a membership which has included many internationally recognised names who have contributed to elevating the Association to a unique level among sports associations around the globe.

Forgive Us Our Press Passes, the history of the Association of Golf Writers, was published in 2005 (Please contact Bernie McGuire, Secretary of the AGW  at email hidden; JavaScript is required regarding availability).

Membership of the Association confers a number of exclusive benefits to dedicated golf writers.