Mike Aitken presented in Edinburgh with the AGW trophy by  former Hearts, Bradford and Kilmarnock manager Jim Jefferies.

A superb turnout of players guaranteed that the final event of the season, at one of the game’s great courses, was always going to be a success.

It is a privilege to play Hoylake and to be made so welcome by such fabulous  hosts. The feel-good factor seemed to follow most of the players on to the course, although a philosophical Bernie McGuire was the exception that proved the rule (see scores below).

In the end, Mike Aitken kept the Saltire flying for the Scottish contingent with a splendid 38 points that brought him his first win in an AGW event in 25 years. Peter  Dixon finished runner-up, one point in arrears, with Dave Edwards finishing third on 36 points – a particularly impressive performance when considering that he failed to score a point on any of the opening three holes.

The nearest the pin prize – an ETIQUS watch, courtesy of sponsor Gary Butler –  at the newly-built par-three 15th was won by Malcolm Campbell.

A special thank you to Sue Page at Callaway Golf for the golf balls and to Bernie McGuire for some wonderful French wines he brought up from France as our nearest to the pin prizes.

2021 AGW Golf Championship – 12th October at Royal Liverpool
Back row – Malcolm Campbell, Adrian Milledge, Rob Perkins. Matt Cooper, Mike Aitken, Alex Perry, Steve Carroll, Dan Murphy, Dick Turner and Andy Waple
Front row – Bernie McGuire, Peter Dixon and Dave Edwards.
Missing from photograph Marin Dempster and Gary Butler (Photo with thanks – Dave Cannon/Getty Images)


1st Mike Aitken (21 Handicap)                    38 points

2nd   Peter Dixon (19)                                      37

3rd Dave Edwards (24)                                 36

4th   Dick Turner (21)                                      34

5th    Matt Cooper (14)                                    34

6th    Adam Lanigan (13)                                29

Steve Carroll (9)                                       29

         Adrian Milledge (21)                               29

9th    Malcolm Campbell (14)                          28

            Brian McLaughlin (14)                          28

            Martin Dempster (14)                          28

            Alex Perry (17)                                      28

13th   Rob Perkins (7)                                      27

            Dave Facey (14)                                    26

15th   Andy Waple (11)                                  25

16th    Dan Murphy (5)                                    21

17th   Bernie McGuire (19)                              12


Gary Butler                                                          34

Dave Cannon                                                       28

Nearest to the Pins

4th      Nil

7th      Dan Murphy

15th    Malcolm Campbell


The Fred Pignon Trophy at Royal Liverpool GC
A first in the history of AGW golf – All six trohies together at Royal Liverpool
Left to right – The R & A Salver, Fred Pignon Trophy, AGW Golfer of the Year trophy, Renton Laidlaw Quaich, Michael Williams Hogget and the Ron Moseley memorial salver
(Photowith thanks David Cannon/Getty Images)
Thank you to everyone at Royal Liverpool for the opportunity to play the 2023 Open Championship host venue
Royal Liverpool’s 14th hole
A day after capturing the Ron Moseley and Dick Turner is lost in the front bunker of the new par-3 15th at Royal Liverpool GC.
Adrian Milledge and watched by Adam Lanigan
Royal Liverpool’s 10th hole
No shortage of toad stools about Royal Liverpool GC
AGW Golf captain Peter Dixon drives off the 16th watched by Dave Cannon
Adam Lanagin let’s one rip at Royal Liverpool GC
Dave Edwards keeping an eye on his 17th hole tee shot as Adrian Milledge looks on
Steve Carroll, Dave Cannon and Peter Dixon at the end of their round.
Bernie’s headcover Ted Koala spotted at Royal Liverpool. Click on his twitter account @Ted_Koala and become a follower.