Billy Foster presented with the AGWs ‘Outstanding Services To Golf’ award by Roddy Williams, and the son of Michael William and which the trophy is in honour. (Photo with thank David Cannon/Getty Images)

OUTSTANDING SERVICES TO GOLF – List of award winners

1951 Max Faulkner
1952 Miss Elizabeth Price
1953 Joe Carr
1954 Frances Stephens
1955 LGU Junior team (B Bostock, c)
1956 John Beharrell
1957 Dai Rees
1958 Harry Bradshaw
1959 Eric Brown
1960 Sir Stuart Goodwin
1961 Cdr. RCT Roe
1962 Marley Spearman
1963 Michael Lunt
1964 Eisenhower Trophy team (J Carr, c)
1965 Gerald Micklem
1966 Ronnie Shade
1967 John Panton
1968 Michael Bonallack
1969 Tony Jacklin
1970 Tony Jacklin
1971 GB&I Walker Cup team (M Bonallack, c)
1972 Mickey Walker
1973 Peter Oosterhuis
1974 Peter Oosterhuis
1975 The Golf Foundation
1976 Eisenhower Trophy team (S Saddler, c)
1977 Christy O’Connor Sen.
1978 Peter McEvoy
1979 Severiano Ballesteros
1980 Sandy Lyle
1981 Bernhard Langer
1982 Gordon Brand Jnr
1983 Nick Faldo
1984 Severiano Ballesteros
1985 Euro. Ryder Cup team (T Jacklin, c)
1986 GB&I Curtis Cup team (D Bailey, c)
1987 Euro. Ryder Cup team (T Jacklin, c)

1988 Sandy Lyle
1989 GB&I Walker Cup team (G Marks, c)
1990 Nick Faldo
1991 Severiano Ballesteros
1992 Euro. Solheim Cup team (M Walker, c)
1993 Bernhard Langer
1994 Laura Davies
1995 Euro. Ryder Cup team (B Gallacher, c)
1996 Colin Montgomerie
1997 Alison Nicholas
1998 Lee Westwood
1999 Sergio Garcia
2000 Lee Westwood
2001 GB&I Walker Cup team (P McEvoy, c)
2002 Euro. Ryder Cup team (S Torrance, c)
2003 Annika Sorenstam
2004 Euro. Ryder Cup team (B Langer, c)
2005 Annika Sorenstam
2006 Euro. Ryder Cup team (I Woosnam, c)
2007 Padraig Harrington
2008 Padraig Harrington
2009 Lee Westwood OBE
2010 Graeme McDowell MBE
2011 Luke Donald MBE
2012 Rory McIlroy MBE
2013 Henrik Stenson
2014 Rory McIlroy MBE
2015 Rory McIlroy MBE
2016 Henrik Stenson
2017 Sergio Garcia
2018 Francesco Molinari
2019 Shane Lowry
2020 Lee Westwood OBE
2021 Euro. Solheim Cup team (C Matthew, c)

  • The Trophy shall be called the Association of Golf Writers Award for Outstanding Services to Golf and shall be the permanent property of the Association.
  • At the end of each year the Committee shall invite members to nominate a person or persons for consideration. The Committee shall then discuss the list of nominations and shall decide whether to award the trophy.
  • The Trophy, which is dedicated to the memory of former Association chairman Michael Williams, shall be held by the winner for a period of one year from the date of presentation.