Dave Edwards presented with the ETIQUS AGW Golfer of the Year award by captain Peter Dixon

Edwards 1,200 Mile Round Trip For 13 Stableford Points Rewarded with 2023 ETIQUS – AGW Golfer of the Year crown

by AGW Golf Captain, Peter Dixon

When Dave Edwards took a 1,200-mile round trip from his home north of Aberdeen to play in the Michael Williams Hogget at Royal Mid-Surrey in May it would be fair to say there was madness in his method. His words, not mine.

That day, our magnificent golfing nomad – a recent winner of the Renton Laidlaw Quaich – managed to pick up just 13 points for his efforts and headed home exhausted and disappointed in equal measure.

Fast forward three months to the Open Championship links of Royal Liverpool GC and the realisation dawned that there had, in fact, been method in his madness after all. For by the time Dave was teeing it up at Hoylake in the final event of the AGW calendar, he was one of just two players who could lift the trophy as the AGW’s Etiqus Golfer of the Year.

Dave Edwards proudly receiving the prize of a gleaming ETIQUS from company founder Gary Butler

Fellow Scot Brian McLauchlin led by four points as they set off in each other’s company on a fine but blustery day. Also on the line was the Golf Writers’ Championship Fred Pignon Trophy, won so convincingly the previous year by Patricia Davies, who was on hand to defend her title.

In the event, Dave emerged victorious on both counts. He drew level in his head-to-head with Brian after a net birdie at the 4th, trailed by one point at the turn and then started to pull away. He moved ahead with a net par at the 11 th and was never to trail again. With an outward half of 14 points and an inward half of 18, for a total of 32, he beat his nearest rival for Golfer of the Year by 11 points.

Not only that, he came in first overall on the day to lift two trophies in one go, plus a coveted Etiqus watch. Runner-up for the Fred Pignon Trophy was Matt Cooper, on 31 points, with Derek Lawrenson and Andy Waple joint third, on 30 points.

What was not missed on our champion was the fact that the 13 points garnered at Royal Mid-Surrey earlier in the summer got him over the line when it mattered most. The marathon trip had proved worthwhile after all.

Dave Edwards in good company at Royal Liverpool GC

Speaking after being presented with his trophies, our doughty Scot said: “It’s a great pleasure to be a member of the AGW. Winning the AGW Championship for me goes back to Royal Mid-Surrey.

Despite the distance and long drive, I thought after managing three points at the first the trip would would prove all worthwhile but then to accumulate only 10 for the next 17 holes was not all that good. Having said that, those 13 points have helped me win today and that makes it even more special”.

Dave’s wife, Yvonne, remained at home for health reasons but gave him motivation to succeed. “She texted me this morning and said to me, ‘Dave, go and win it for me’. So I stand here today pretty chuffed.”

And quite right, too.

A very special thank you to ETIQUS founder Gary Butler again for your continued wonderful generosity and also joining the Association at both Wallasey and Royal Liverpool


(Royal Liverpool GC – Wednesday 30th August, 2023)

Dave Edwards – 32 Stableford points

Matt Cooper – 31

Derek Lawrenson & Andy Waple – 30

Colin Callander & Colin Harding – 29

Michael Weston – 28

Peter Dixon – 25

Patricia Davies – 23

Andy Farrell – 21

Brian McLauchlin & Chris Stratford – 17

Paul Mahoney – 15

Bernie McGuire & Malcolm Campbell – 14

Dick Turner – 12

Guest – Gary Butler