AGW Golf Captain Peter Dixon handing the Ron Moseley Memorial Trophy to Colin Harding at Wallasey GC (26th September, 2022)

While the chase for overall honours provided a good back story to the day, there was still plenty to play for at Wallasey. This was the first time the AGW had played here, for which thanks must go to Derek Lawrenson, a member of the club, for making the arrangements. Our welcome could not have been warmer.

While most of the field struggled in strong winds and the occasional downpour, three players made light of the conditions, with Colin Harding – who also won the Michael Williams Hogget at The Belfry in the summer – eventually coming through to win with a quite outstanding return of 38 points off a playing handicap of six. In second place, just a point behind, was Denis Kirwan, with Dave Edwards finishing third on 36 points.

There were also good performances from David Facey and Patricia Davies, who both finished with 32 points. Facey’s score kept him within touching distance of Kirwan heading to Hoylake, while Perkins’s 22 points seemed likely to have brought the curtain down on his challenge for player of the year honours.

2022 – Ron Moseley Memorial Salver (Monday 26th September, 2022) – Final Scores:

38: Colin Harding
37: Denis Kirwan
36: Dave Edwards
32: Patricia Davies, David Facey
26: Neil McLeman
25: Peter Dixon
24: Adrian Milledge
23: Derek Lawrenson
22: Rob Perkins, Iain Carter
11: Paul Mahoney
9: Tim Taylor
NR: Dick Turner