The AGW (as at 2021) conducts five golfing events a year –

* Michael Williams Hogget * R & A Salver * Ron Moseley Memorial Trophy * Renton Laidlaw Quaich (fomerly Presidents Putter 1986-2019) and * Golf Writers Championship.

AGW Golf Captain Peter Dixon.

The position of AGW Golf Captain is a voluntary role and with the Golf Captain handling all matters in relation to the arrangements and conduct of the AGW golf outings. Peter’s email address is: email hidden; JavaScript is required

Competition Venues

It will be up to the AGW Golf Captain to arrange host venues. It has been customary over many years for competitions to be held in and around European Tour events. With the introduction of the AGW Salver in 2013 this event has been held on the day of the Open Championship media outing in April. The remaining four events are then arranged over the remainder of the year. The Golf Writers Championship shall be the final event in a year.


The AGW golf outings are only open to ‘Full’ (Full, Life and Retired) members of the Association. The AGW can choose to extend invitations to non-AGW members, including Honorary or Affiliate members of the AGW but those teeing-up as guests are ineligible to win an AGW trophy.

Format –


In The Event Of A Tie:

If in the event two or more players are tied at the end of competition there shall be a countback over the closing nine holes. If the leaders are still tied then over the last six holes and then last three holes and, if still tied, the winner shall be the player who had the highest points on the last or 18th hole.

Handicaps –



The winner of one of the five AGW events shall be presented with a trophy. It is then the responsibilty of the winning member to take proper care for the safety and appearance of the trophy. The winner is expected to meet the costs of engraving and it should be stressed to any engraver, the engraving must follow suit of previous engravings on the trophy. It is also the responsibility of the winner, and if in the event you cannot be present to defend the trophy, to ensure the trophy is on hand for the following year’s conduct of the event.

AGW -ETIQUS Golfer Of The Year:

The AGW – ETIQUS Golfer of the Year shall be the member who accumulates the highest number of Stableford Points over the course of a season. If an AGW member competes in all five matches he or she will drop their poorest Stableford score so as their four highest scores count towards the honour. If an AGW member competes in just four events then his or her four scores will count and the same if a member should only play three matches.

* If at the end of a season there is two or more tied for the highest number of Stableford points then the honour of ETIQUS – AGW Golfer of the Year shall be shared.
* Should a situation arise, as in 2020 due to the COVID-19 virus, and there is a loss of AGW matches then the AGW Golf Captain in consolation with the AGW Secretary, will decide if there will be an ETIQUS – AGW Golfer of the Year.